top of page

GIGANTIC map on a sheet - Game Of Thrones

Hello!

So last summer I spend a lot of my free time lying on my stomach in the TV-room painting on my big map of the Game of Thrones world. If I count I think it took somewhere around 140 hours to make it.

I started with doing a skiss of everything with a lead pencil. To be able to make some of the most difficult parts I printed and cut out so that I could make the contours of the different animals and other icon that are on the banners....

Then I started coloring the banners and mixed colors after what was needed. I used a mix between normal acrylic paint and paint for fabric. This because I ended up needing a lot (A LOT!!) of white and the fabric paint is pretty expencive so I ended up buying acrylic paint which worked just as good. But if you intend to wash the fabric the acrylic paint dosen't hold as well as the special paint.

I continued with the map, for that I needed a lot of color and I also added some water so that the color was easier to apply with a sponge in soft strokes to make a more realistic landscape.

The sea was almost the hardest part, especially when I came to the colors. I used a lot of color and I had to mix colors over and over again and it was hard to get it right. So I had to test it over and over again, my hand looked super fun sometimes :P

But in the end the sea became really good.

Final touch was to add all the names of rivers, seas, islands, towns and castles and so on. I marked every town and castle with a red dot and wrote all the names with a red permanent marker. And voilá it's done!! I use it as bedspread and its really nice! It was super fun to do but it took a lot of time and energy so before I do something that is this big again I will really think about it :D

ARCHIVES

POPULAR TAGS

Inga taggar än.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page